2010 AskReddit thread asking for Wikipedia donations

You can talk about anything related to Wikipedia criticism here.
CMAwatch
Sucks Critic

2010 AskReddit thread asking for Wikipedia donations

Post by CMAwatch » Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:10 pm

r/AskReddit • u/[deleted] • 9y

I know we're all making fun of Jimmy Wales' creepy stare on Wikipedia. But seriously... have you donated?
Wikipedia is fucking fantastic. Go donate a few bucks if you haven't already. Most of us use it several times a day, and I think it's reasonable that they ask for our donations once a year.

I'm sorry that this post isn't exactly "AskReddit" material, but I think this subreddit is where it'll get the most attention. This is really important. Seriously, can you imagine the internet without wikipedia?

As I'm a poor college student, I was only able to afford $20 this year. But if everyone who reads this matches my donation, that should raise a significant amount of money, enough to ensure that Wikipedia can keep their site running free of charge and completely ad-free, at least for another year. I've donated a lot of money to them in the past, because without Wikipedia I would have failed half of my classes, and I would know a lot less than I do now.

One comment says:
I disapprove of the deletionism on Wikipedia
#BbbGate
Weaponizing WP:G5
Oops! Didn't think we'd see? It's right there on WikipediaSucks.co!
ericbarbour wrote:
Wed Sep 09, 2020 4:22 am
[Wikipedia is] a stupid video game, and the "encyclopedia" is an accidental byproduct.

ericbarbour
Sucks Admin

Re: 2010 AskReddit thread asking for Wikipedia donations

Post by ericbarbour » Sat Jul 11, 2020 9:05 pm

CMAwatch wrote:
Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:10 pm
I disapprove of the deletionism on Wikipedia